Fall 2014: My favorite ED

It’s time to shed light on my favorite ED from this season! Check out my favorite OP list, too.

1. Anime : Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu | Song : IT’S THE RIGHT TIME | Artist : Miura Daichi

Despite being shorter than the average ED theme length, this song manages to satisfy my cravings for worthwhile EDs. It totally stands out in the show since it’s the only non-techno music that is used. The voice, the lyrics that somehow lightens the mood of the show, the R&B vibes, the complementary pastel-colored background illustrations, and just the overall slow pace combine together into a relaxing tune that, for sure, I’ll end up listening to when I just want to chill out.

2. Anime : Wolf Girl and Black Prince | Song : Ookami Heart | Artist : Oresama

Wow. I’m surprised Ookamishoujo actually has good music. Though the music is not as energetic as the OP, this song is bright and cheerful in a subtle way. It might have been boring has the animation been less varied in additional elements to make up for the minimal character animation. What made this fun to watch are the timing of these elements to show up and disappear at the cue of the music beats, and the colorful add-ons and background animation.

3. Anime: ??? | Song: ???… uhh, nevermind

Additional Notes: Sadly, only two entries made it in this season’s ED list. Actually, EDs from Your Lie in April, Yowamushi Pedal: Grande Road, and Sora no Method could have actually made it, weren’t it for the weak song or animation sequence.

For both Sora no Method and Your Lie in April, the songs were good, but pretty much left a weak impression, despite the really good animation. In the former, there was full length animation that was highly detailed, especially in how the characters walked like fashion models on a show. In the latter, there wasn’t much animation in the sense that there were no character movements for the most part. But the movements of the add-on elements (on several layers in just one frame) around Miyazono Kaori (focal point) made it seem like it was actually shot by a real camera because of the perceived depth or 3D effect. I particularly loved this part.

Now for Yowamushi Pedal: Grande Road, the song is sadly rather a weak release from one of my favorite Jrock bands. Regardless of how the animation would have looked like (though from this series, it seems like there’s no effort–as in, sweat, blood, and skills–put into the animation), I would put the song were it not for the weak impression of the song. It’s not that I expected the song to exceed the goodness of “Reclimb” (Yowamushi Pedal OP1). If it were just as good or it met my standard for any ROOKiEZ is PUNK’D song, I would have definitely included “Realize” in this list.

Therefore, my main basis for selection of favorite EDs is the song. Great/good animation, or appropriate background illustrations, is a plus, but not essentially the most determining factor.

5 responses to “Fall 2014: My favorite ED

  1. Pingback: 12 Days of Reminiscence #2 – Anime Music in 2014 – Anime Vios·

    • Thanks for the comment!

      I like it better, too. The numbering in my lists aren’t really ranking. They’re just for the sake of counting my entries. 🙂

  2. I do love Rookiez is Punk’d, but I agree. This isn’t their best work. Heck it’s not even their best Yowapedal work!

    I really like Shingeki no Bahamut’s ED, personally. It’s a very pretty track.

Your feedback makes me happy

