[ASS] #11 – Feelings

This is me, writing on the 14th. Happy Valentine’s Day from the past, to you. Speaking of Valentine’s, which is popularly known as the day for celebrating romantic love, have you ever been in love with someone? If so, did you confess your feelings?

[Bakemonogatari ED] Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari (The Story You Don’t Know) by supercell

https://vimeo.com/64878183Just like the song title, feelings kept inside and unsaid, the moments spent together, and the thoughts of wanting more to be with the other person are things he/she wouldn’t know with certainty. Unrequited love is often like that. Even if you’re with the person you like, you feel distant. Even more so if you’re not.

Do you want to change that? If your answer is yes, what will you do to close that gap? Maybe you want to stay anonymous, or as friends, not wanting to take the risk–of being rejected or becoming strangers?

As for me, I never really took that risk, but I kind of did. Scratch that, I never really saw what I did as something risky. There was nothing to wager to begin with–I never had the intention of becoming more than just friends. (And oh, I did that twice.)

But to those who really bet their words and feelings with the million other chances, I salute you. It’s not easy to muster up the courage in revealing a side of you that you’d much rather keep to yourself. That shows how lovely you truly are.

7 responses to “[ASS] #11 – Feelings

  1. Supercell make some of the best openings and endings for anime. I’d always watch the ending of Bakemonogatari just to hear this! 🙂

    As for love, well it’s not something I’m into. I don’t think I’ve met the right person yet, but I have had a few crushes here and there. I only tend to have a crush on one person at a time, but I’m too shy to confess. Once I just went and sat next to my crush when her friend left and I was so shy that I had no idea what to say! After that my friends were all cheering me though, it was quite funny.

    Furthest I’ve gotten with someone I liked was going out shopping with them, but I moved schools after that so that’s as far as we got. I think that she knew I liked her… *cries*

    • Well, for me supercell is certainly one of the Japanese artists I don’t have qualms about listening to. 🙂 So that means something, as I’m big on my Japanese music appreciation.

      Oh, don’t rush into love life if you’re not ready to be in a relationship, but expressing your feelings won’t totally hurt. For one, it will actually make you feel better, because it’s a load off your chest. Personally, I didn’t feel burdened too much by what I felt after confessing. Though others would say otherwise. The thing is, you just need to relax and calmly let the situation into your mind. Having the right mindset is the key.

      I’m sorry to hear that, but that isn’t the end of your [love] story yet! 🙂 There are greater things to come. 😀

  2. Ahh. There’s just something hauntingly good about the nagiyanagi days of supercell.

    “Even if you’re with the person you like, you feel distant. Even more so if you’re not.”
    – This speaks to me, lol, more so since I belong to the “torpe” category of shy men xD

    • I miss the nagi days of supercell. 😥 But I’m also really glad that she has made her own music and a name for herself! 🙂

      Aww man. I wish you the best of luck! If you really want the girl to know that you love her, it’s better to express your feelings sooner than later. As Kitsune-neechan said below, it is about the other person, not you. That’s what love is about. Those feelings are precious.

  3. I love that song! The anime ending was great where they look at the stars! Here is another AMV related to that moment (I really like that music!)

    Easier said than done, but it is important to express your feelings. What harm can it do? What if a person does not return your feelings? No problem! The rejection is not a statement about your worth, beauty, or personality. It is not about you – it is about them. All it means is that the preference of the other person does not match what you offer. That’s perfectly fine! We are all different with a different taste. The problem is that people take a rejection too seriously and are very afraid of it.

    Hmm… That’s interesting. You expressed your feelings to someone twice, but never had an intention of becoming more than friends…

    As for being in love… Well, we have to be careful how we define it. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triangular_theory_of_love

    • Well said, Kitsu-neechan. For some, romance is about themselves, not for whom the feelings are for.

      Ah, let me clear any misunderstanding. I confessed to two different guys in two different phases of my life, so they are completely unrelated situations. It just so happens I already knew they like another girl(s?). So I gave up immediately. (And I’m not ready to commit myself in a relationship. That would be some years from now.)

Your feedback makes me happy

