Liebster Award 2015 v.1

Guess what? I’ve been nominated for Liebster Award again.

EDIT: Apparently, I was also nominated by madreceiver of DadWatchesAnime, but I didn’t get a notification (and I didn’t initially get to see his Liebster post orz). I’m including his questionnaire as well, though answers are very brief this time. Thanks, madreceiver!

I did this some time ago, but I enjoy doing this sort of Q&A thing so new nominations are always welcome. Thanks to FabledHunter over at Anime Ataraxia for this second chance. As an alternative, you can send me questions at my ask.fm profile.

Basically, this Liebster Award thing that is passed around bloggers—of course, not limited to anime bloggers—aims to recognize blogs with 200 or less followers (I’ve seen <1000, too), helping each other out in gaining a wider readership. Nominees are tasked to answer a set of questions and create their own questionnaire for others, i.e. the new nominees, to answer. This isn’t some compulsory survey that all nominees need to finish, but it won’t hurt to decline the nomination with courtesy if one does not wish to continue the chain.

In simple terms, these are what the awardees need to do when they receive the nomination (You can choose to deviate from the rules, if you want. It’s your award and you can do anything with it.):

  • Thank the person who nominated you by linking his award and/or blogger
  • (Optional: Provide some background information and the rules on Liebster Award)
  • Answer the 11 questions provided by the blogger who nominated you
  • (Optional: State 11 facts about yourself)
  • Nominate 3~10 bloggers to do this, too
  • Write 11 questions for your nominees to answer and notify them of your nomination

Now that we’re ready, here we go!

FabledHunter’s Questions

  1. Do you have any hobbies which aren’t related to anime?

Is drawing a valid answer? I like to draw, but my subjects are mainly anime. These days, though, I haven’t been able to properly sit down, think, reflect, and sketch what I want. You can call it a ‘slump,’ I guess.

Still, I hunt good art works, anime and non-anime, from time to time. I look up to my friend IRL, japhers, because he’s seriously good at what he does and his style has remained unique throughout its continuous evolution. My current favorite artists include Kuvshinov Ilya, Miguel Mercado, and Yuumei. Atmospheric works always mesmerize me.

Lately, I’ve started to listen to some Filipino music again. Most of the songs on my music library, however, are the old songs. Well, not really old , but about pre-2010 era? I mean, the first decade of 2000 is like the heaven of Filipino music that I grew up with. Around that time, many bands debuted and they played really good music. Their music, along with American punk rock hits, was what every 90’s kid in our country would know by heart and sing along.

Because I want to rekindle my love for our own music, I began translating some of these songs, which I think are worthy of more attention. It’s mostly for fun on my part, but I created a separate blog for it (Gigs and Crowds). There are several other songs and translated lyrics that I have prepared and scheduled for publishing. Drop a visit if you’re even slightly interested.

Also, I don’t know if you could call this a hobby, but when I listen to anime songs, and other rock songs, I almost always do the air drumming. Now, don’t squint your eyes. It’s real. It’s what drummers do to practice a song when their drum set is not nearby. In my case, a drum set is nowhere to be found and used. So, really, air drumming is the best I can do (for now), rarely with my sticks, to keep up with my desire to play the instrument. I used to play in a band and would like to play with friends some more, though real life matters just won’t let me off the hook that easily.

  1. What is your favorite scene or moment in anime?

I have lots! But let me pick a recent famous scene:

Inou Battle ep 7

Inou Battle ep 7; because Hayamin~ ❤

  1. Do you wish you did anything differently when you were younger?

Not really, no. I do regret some decisions, but what is life without regret? You won’t be who you are today if it weren’t for the mistakes we did. Of course, we can’t keep fooling around and do the same mistakes over and over again.

While I did say I regret some decisions, I won’t outright say that I want to change them. Because of the series of choices I’ve opted for, I met and got to know various people that I can’t exchange with whatever ‘redo’ I may be able to think of.

  1. Is there any anime which most people you know thought was bad, but you really enjoyed?

Kakumeiki Valvrave, perhaps? I haven’t seen any anitwitter or blogger that has genuinely liked the show. I thought it was good. I mean, I enjoyed watching it and was always looking forward to the next episode. I can’t remember much of it, though.

Except for this meme, maybe.

 

  1. Are there any anime characters you admire, while not being able to agree with their values or choices?

I admire Lelouch Lamperouge (or vi Britannia, if you want). A lot. I admire his tenacity to fight and overthrow the tyranny, though it was mostly for the fulfillment of his own desires and dreams (for Nunnally to boot). I was first doubtful if he would even succeed with his plans. But he did, with unspeakable consequences along the way.

I hate war. I hate the thought of ‘spending’ human lives on a pointless battle of contrasting ideas, beliefs and philosophies and of selfish and unlawful acquisition of resources. Even laws have holes in them and, to some extent, are written to the benefit of a few elites, leaving the humble people unprotected just because they do not have the freaking expensive documents that may support their rights and claims.

But let’s get back to Lelouch. He kind of reminds me of a certain ruler, someone who really exists and oversees his citizens. I’m one of those citizens who feel safe under his strict governance. He hates terrorism and terrorist, and aptly sets up check points at the areas of entry into our city. Police, police boxes/stations, and traffic enforcers are scattered throughout the city to ensure the citizens’ compliance to the laws of peace and order. Thus, he doesn’t hesitate to punish criminals, if the need to do so presents itself. He advocates peace, building a city where good citizens live in safety but violators live in fear.

  1. What underrated anime or manga series do you think needs to be exposed to more people?

I think open-minded people should watch Watamote, or read Tomodachi no Hanashi. The latter isn’t exactly underrated, but not a lot of people have read it. It’s written by Kawahara Kazune, the one who wrote and drew Koukou Debut and wrote Ore Monogatari (which, according to what I’ve heard, is really good). Tomodachi no Hanashi is a simple but a thoughtful tale of and commentary on friendship and romantic relationship, to a lesser degree. If you’re looking for a fast read but is certainly worth your time, do check it out.

It has a very clean, nice, and unique art style (thanks, Yamakawa Aiji). It has some yuri undertone that doesn't become the focus. so...

It has a very clean, nice, and unique art style (thanks, Yamakawa Aiji). It has some yuri undertone that doesn’t become the focus. so…

Of course, if you’re looking for yuri, I strongly recommend the breezy comics by TanJiu and Ssamba.

  1. If you were able to live in an anime or manga universe, would you? and which one?

If that’s just possible, why not? But anime exists exactly because it can’t be real. Most anime universes are fictional, anyway.

Okay, let me drop this kill-joy façade and answer this question honestly, like every other weeaboo. I have two universes in mind.

First is Aria’s Neo Venezia. It’s basically a futuristic Mars. Alas, it’s filled with unlimited seascapes and skyscapes! Needless to say, I’d get to see the beautiful Undines. Life would really be peaceful there. Why would I not want to travel there, if it were just real?

Now, tell me just how this isn’t beautiful.

Now, tell me just how this isn’t beautiful.

Second is Gintama’s futuristic feudal Japan (and spaaace), where eccentric is normal and normal is eccentric. I’d apply to become Yorouzuya’s apprentice, and have the gang teach me how to dougi–umm–make jokes that aren’t awkward. Me and my horrible sense of humor, or the lack thereof.

Trust me, references and parodies aren't all that Gintama has to offer.

Trust me, references and parodies aren’t all that Gintama has to offer.

P.S. Well, this is also my little reminder that we’re getting new anime for these two shows. 😉

  1. What is your favourite visual novel? (if you haven’t played any pick an anime which was adapted from a visual novel)

I don’t have much exposure to visual novels. Having said that, the first and only VN I have ever finished was Utawarerumono. I’ve touched a little but of CLANNAD, Fate/stay night, and Cross+Channel, but I’m nowhere near completion of those titles.

Utawarerumono is actually an enjoyable SRPG visual novel, and it’s mainly because of the SRPG element that I looked forward to playing it the next day every time I closed the window and went to sleep. I didn’t watch the anime, so the story was fresh and intriguing, enabling me to complete it even though the first I tried playing was CLANNAD, which was just dull in comparison.

  1. What are you most looking forward to during 2015?

In terms of anime? Well, answer #7. Spring is really looking good, but I doubt I can get around to religiously watch all of the 16 shows I want to watch.

  1. Would you consider yourself more a S or M?

Without the sexual attachments, I’m a mix of both but leaning to S, which is a bad thing, I know.

  1. What anime series would you prefer to have a new season announced?

Spice and Wolf? That’s a common answer. Honestly, I want to see the last two arcs (Inheritance Ceremony arc and Curse of the Rainbow arc) of Katekyo Hitman Reborn! in animated form. I wonder how it would look like in today’s animation aesthetics. Even at its time, KHR! is one of those long-running series that had a thoroughly consistent animation, thanks based Artland.

Sawada Tsunayoshi of Vongola Famiglia vs Kozato Enma of Simon Famiglia. I want to see these two bishies have some action time! Flame versus Flame, isn’t that HOT?

Quick Answers to Madreceiver’s Questions

  1. What are your top 3 animes?

I still don’t like the idea of ranking anime into their respective spots, but I guess top three wouldn’t hurt. So my answer’s just going to be spontaneous, off the top of my head: Gintama, FMA: Brotherhood, and Major (the entire anime).

Fierce.

Fierce.

  1. Which anime(s) has made you cry the most?

CLANNAD ~After Story~, I think? Episodes 6 and 18 are my personal timeless episodes. I still get pretty emotional whenever I rewatch them. Code Geass comes close, with the last episode of the second season a total face destroyer. Hotarubi e no Mori (from the mangaka and studio that brought us Natsume Yuujinchou) dealt a huge blow to my heart, even though it was a short movie. This just implies how well made and legitimately beautiful it was and it definitely deserved the hype it was getting.

_Commie__Hotarubi_no_Mori_e_720p_asckj1.mkv_snapshot_19.04_[2012.02.29_20.11.51]

  1. Which anime that you were looking forward to disappointed you the most?

Fate/stay night: UBW. It just wasn’t for me (i.e., I just wanted to see more of Saber). But then, it was Rin’s route. Saber simply wouldn’t get the much of the air time.

saber_lion_carnival_phantasm

  1. What character have you despised most? Why?

Almost all of Yuki Kaji’s mainstream roles. Want me to mention them? Ouma Shu (Guilty Crown) and  Alibaba (Magi), to name a few. I don’t hate the man, though.

  1. Your top 10 favorite characters?

I just don’t like the idea of having to rank all my favorites into neat “places”. At least, not now. Because they always change. It takes a lot of energy for me to answer this kind of questions.

Excuses aside, you can check my MAL profile to see my current 10 favorite characters from anime and manga. Please note that I have more favorites in mind.

  1. Your favorite OP or ED?

I’m too lazy to list them, so you can check out my 30DAC challenge posts for OP and ED.

  1. What do you watch aside from anime?

Random music-related videos on Youtube that ranges from classical to pop and rock. I also try to make it a habit to at least watch a documentary every one to two weeks.

And no, I’m not too fond of movies.

  1. What upcoming shows are you looking forward to?

The new Gintama and Aria are two. Silent Voice/Koe no Katachi anime adaptation also counts.

  1. How did you get into anime?

That’ll be a long story if I have to tell exactly all the details, so I can only give a TL;DR answer for now: I’ve watched anime when I was young, but got reacquainted to the medium when my high school friends recommended me some good series to watch—Code Geass, Ouran, and Honey & Clover, to name a few.

  1. Have you attended any anime conventions?

Yes. I used to attend anime conventions, with MCS 2009 being the (not so) latest.

  1. How do your family or peers feel about your anime viewing?

They’re cool with it. Several of my closest friends are anime enthusiasts, too.

11 Quick Facts about miharusshi

  1. I’m a shy person IRL
  2. I love cats, if it wasn’t obvious enough.
  3. I love animals, though.
  4. My favorite color used to be blue, but now it’s red (thanks to my Cassiopeia days)
  5. “Yo”
  6. The longest time I was absent from school was for one week, when I was in 3rd year of high school. Thanks to acute sinusitis.
  7. I used to be one of the most talkative brats in elementary school.
  8. I passed the high school admission examinations without preparing for it. (This is an ancient story, I can’t brag about it anymore.)
  9. I used to be popular in school. (High school changed that, though.)
  10. But it’s more peaceful for me to stay at the background.
  11. Lastly, and more like a recent discovery, I’m bisexual, though I’ve never been in a relationship yet.

Now I’m done with mine, I’m passing the baton to:

Alex & Zach | AnonymousMatcha | Bubu-chan | cladinblue | Denny Sinnoh

Leap250 | madreceiver | mii-chan | mochirochi | Neru

(EDIT: I failed to see madreceiver’s Liebster post that was published recently, and Denny and mii-chan don’t seem to do this sort of thing.)

Dear reader, feel free to answer these questions, too. The nomination is simply for formality. These questions aren’t only for my nominees. Alright, boys and girls, these are my questions for you:

1. Has there been a seiyuu/voice actor that you really dislike? Why (not)?

2. What are some of your least favorite genres? Or at least, genres that you tend to avoid?

3. Do you read manga? Has there been an instance when a scene/chapter has moved you that you couldn’t help but cry?

4. What do you think is a romantic deed (e.g. confession, kiss, hug, etc) in any romance anime? Why?

5. Do you have a MAL account? Follow up questions: [5.a.] If you do, show off your MALgraph awards (anime and/or manga, whichever is fine with you) by posting a screencap. Which award do you wish to level up next and why? [5.b.] If you don’t have a MAL, do you have a profile on any other anime listing service? Why prefer that over MAL? (Or why not keep any at all?)

6. Do you keep or wish to keep a pet/s? Describe your bonding moments.

7. In which of the 16 personalities (Myers-Briggs typology) do you classify? (Click here if you haven’t taken a test.) Do you agree with the result?

8. Whatcha say?

9. How did you come up with your username? Do you use other usernames in other sites?

10. What do you do to unwind?

11. Do you hate these questions? Was this reward too troublesome for you?

Thanks to everyone who read this until the end. Two thousand words is no joke.

Ciaossu!

Ciaossu!

38 responses to “Liebster Award 2015 v.1

  1. Pingback: The return of blog awards: Liebster Award 2015 v.2 | Anime Vios·

    • OMG Sakura-chan!!! For reals?!!! Welcome back!!! ;v; Been kinda confused about myself these past few months, esp since February. I think I’ll write all about it in a post.

      Ikaw? How are things at your end? Kwento ka sa blog moooo

  2. Pingback: The Sunshine Award | Anime Vios·

  3. Drawing huh? I’m not much of an artist myself, but I do commission a hell lot from a number of DA artists I like :p Do you have a DA/pixiv account?

    Lelouch’s actually a pretty fine choice for question #5

    For question #7, nice, these are pretty much my first picks too! Maybe just a bit less for Gintama, pretty chaotic world.. :\ Humorously, it’s also a world where inanimate objects (Justaway) and animals (Sadaharu and Elizabeth) are ranked in a character poll, and are even higher than some characters.

    Too bad you didn’t like UBW as much, I personally like Rin though :p

    • Yeah, I do see that you commission a lot of DA artists. Haha. Okanemochi desu ne. :3

      Yes, I do have DA account (and tried to make a pixiv account as well, but I’ve abandoned that haha), which should be linked in my social media buttons here in my blog.

      Now that I think about it, Gintama universe is indeed chaotic. Haha. Gintama character polls are amazing and the best/most unexpected. I laugh every time they do character ranking episodes 😄
      Yeah, too much talking in UBW that I didn’t really enjoy listening to. I don’t hate Rin, but I really wanted to see Saber. Seems like I’d see Saber in the upcoming latter half. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Liebster Award 2015 V.1 Nomination! | The Mystic Otaku·

      • You’re welcome, Miha-chan. You deserve it.

        Hmmm. I already forgot how many times I got nominated for this award. I don’t receive it in my blog, but I appreciate the thought.

        Anyway, hope you are doing well. Cheers!

  5. Congrats on getting nominated! I’m not too sure about what this award is, but I’ve seen it on some blogs. Thanks for passing on the baton. (too much to write *cries*)

    Gosh now you’ve reminded me to watch Gintama. It’s a really highly regarded anime that I haven’t seen yet.

    Funny that you’re into air drumming though, haha! What sort of rock music do you listen to? I’m a fan of both Western and Japanese rock music 🙂

    • Thanks! 🙂 It’s really just a community-like way of getting to know more bloggers. It’s actually been helpful to me when I got my first nomination. 😉 And, of course, seeing that you haven’t done it yet, it’s natural for me to pass it on to you.

      Just an advice for watching Gintama: It has a lot of suggestive jokes that you may not appreciate at first (it actually kind of threw me off when I first started watching it myself). And the first episodes are really slow in getting you immersed in the show. It may take a while before you can finally and confidently want more episodes to marathon. That said, it’ll be a very enjoyable ride from around 20th episode or so. Good luck and have fun!

      Air drumming is quite normal for us people who play the drums, but I guess it sounds weird to those who don’t? orz

      I’m most comfortable with punk and alternative rock, but I do listen some hard rock and pop rock from time to time. 😉 I found my way back into Boys Like Girls and Red Jumpsuit Apparatus about 3 years and 1 year ago, respectively. Of course, I’m also a fan of Jrock, most of which are a lot different than Western rock. They tend to be very experimental.

      • Haha I always thought people air drum because its fun. I know I do it sometimes at home! (don’t tell anyone though)

        Gintama certainly sounds interesting. It has so much praise going for it, I’m curious. I just don’t know if I’m ready to commit to the sheer number of episodes though… Oh well – holidays in a month 😛

        Anyway, thanks for nominating me. I’ll start writing my response on the weekend 🙂

        Have a good day / night!

        • If I know, air drumming is really fun to a select few people and that’s mostly why we do that. 😛

          The ‘sheer’ number of episodes are just a distraction to your Gintama experience, since you won’t even feel like you’ve watched too much of it, I’m sure. You’ll keep asking for more~

          That’s good to know. 🙂 Holidays will be your friend (Around that time, Gintama is airing, so… better catch up for real! No pressure intended here)

  6. Can totally relate with that “air drumming” ahaha though I haven’t played a drum irl but given chances its gonna be my 1st choice of instrument! I like the question about the username… Ive always thought of making something a post or whatever explaining my “usernames” (because I have 2) but you know … “Who would care anyway” haha

    First time to be involved again in this kind of stuff.. If you remember the first time we met (in this blogging world) I said I always feel and acted like a “loner” blogger so… But…Yeah thanks again xD gonna brainstorm for a while about these series of questions hahaha 😁

    And I enjoyed your list 😘

    • Are you perhaps into rock music, too? 😉 Drums have always been the fascinating instrument to me, because I grew up watching and listening to my big bro doing the air drumming. 😄 And he was the person who got me into OPM at the first place. He would always play the music in our house. Being the youngest in the family, I didn’t have much control over what to listen or what to watch on TV (if I know, the older folks always had the right to hold the remote control).

      I can relate to that ‘loner blogger’ feel, though not as much as I did before I met more people.

      You’re welcome, bubu-chan! 😄 And I’m glad you enjoyed reading mine.

      • Im actually into all sorts of music genre but if you sneak into my playlist my most “played” are always from One Ok Rock, Scandal, Aqua Timez, L~arc-en-Ciel, UVERworld, Nico Touches the walls, MCR, SWS, Rookiez is Punk’D, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas… Not sure if all of them are considered rock but they are definitely my favorites. In K-On srsly Ritsu is my favorite. I am in love with girls who rocks in drums lol

        Aw sorry for giving out a list lol. I just kinda love saying who my fave bands and artists are xD

        • Do you have a lastfm account? Coz I have, and it sure help me keep track of my music taste and trend changes in my preferences over the week, month, or half the year. 😉

          I guess you’re more into rock, because I recognize most of the bands you mentioned. You’ve got some nice taste, madame.

          Same here. Mio was my first favorite, though Ritsu kept on shining brighter until the end. To me, she was just that brilliant character in the show and she kept things very funny and amusing. 😄 How I wish I can be like her at times, whenever I need to.

  7. For starters, Gintama, although it is futuristic, it takes place in the past, which for the longest time I thought it was the future. But still that show is funny regardless.
    I never watched Aria, how is that series?
    Also, due to the Liebster award going around, I find it rather weird, that so many of our random facts tend to be us saying that we are shy.

    • Oooh, sorry for the misunderstanding, but I thought every Gintama fan/anyone who watches it would know why I included “feudal Japan”. As we all know, feudal Japan was a long time ago.

      Aria is a slice of life. If you don’t mind the slow ‘progress’ and if you like cute and lovable girls doing adorable things, then I recommend it.

      Hehehe. Many online (mostly not so famous, like us) people are shy IRL.

      • It feels like I am starting to become slightly self aware about the fact that there are anime out there simply for cute girls doing cute things. I just looked up the plot of Aria, and it looks interesting. Although I am not certain, I think the anime comes out this fall, so maybe this summer I will check it out.
        On another note, I really like the Liebster Award and like seeing where it goes. For instance, if I go back a few after clicking on the people who nominated you, I get to me. It is just an interesting way to see how it all connects.

        • They may appear ‘simply’ anime of cute girls doing cute things, but it also depends on your intention upon viewing it. For me, I intend to get as much lessons/reflections/realizations from everything I watch and find nice, however they may feel slow at most times (though I’ve dropped quite a number of shows because they’re too slow and boring for me). But I assure you that you can’t simply disregard Aria and dump it with the common school-setting Girls Club anime. It’s more than just that, really. Some I feel the need to rewatch the series, but it’s too long. Hahaha

          Yep. I find that aspect of chain awards/blog carnivals interesting, too. We’re just under the same roof, but we have different rooms or clusters where we group ourselves with various circles.

        • I would like to say, that although I became self aware of the cute thing, but that had nothing to do with looking at Aria for why I would watch it. Most times if it is there, it is there I never use it as a reason to watch shows. But anyway, I can agree with you that some shows that fit that type can be a little boring, while others can be amazing.
          On another note, after I typed the last comment I wanted to see where it took me for who nominated me, I actually got to a normal book review site after just five or so clicks.

        • Like I said, it is cool what you can find. Personally I have been almost following all that are nominated just to see who they nominate, since it is an interesting way to find out about other blogs.

        • Yep. That’s exactly what this award thing is all about: you get to know other blogs and might find something that you’d like.

  8. HEY THERE!

    When I read No. 4 i was like nooooo I LOVE VALVRAVE TOO! 😀 yet, i also can’t seem to recall much of it; the whole thing is just one whole jumbled mess with colourful explosions everywhere and hilarious character antics and interactions which aren’t actually supposed to be funny… at first glance. Sometimes I suspect Valvrave creators knew what they were doing – creating a ridiculously entertaining roller-coaster ride without much semblance of a logical, tight plot. (I love the meme btw xD)

    And I totally agree about no. 5; Lelouch is my favourite characters precisely because he was in a position where he had many tough choices to make; but he knew the consequences of those choices and did it anyway. (Though, he could have been said to be adamantly following his personal ‘questionable’ notions of justice) To me, that’s self-sacrifice, and that in itself is extremely admirable.

    • Totally agree with your points, ma’am (sounds like you’re a lady to me) 😉

      Lelouch’s position wasn’t easy. Though any justice-loving person could have wanted to do what Lelouch did, it isn’t just another ‘seat’ that anybody can just volunteer for. As you said, it also requires the person to sacrifice even (a little bit of) himself. And there’s also that impending danger of being KIA. I don’t agree with his ideals, but I just can’t hate the fact that he fought for a brighter future that eventually wasn’t only for his sister, but also for the Elevens and everybody else in that war-stricken world.

  9. “4.Is there any anime which most people you know thought was bad, but you really enjoyed?
    Kakumeiki Valvrave, perhaps?”

    Yesss :DDDDDD

Your feedback makes me happy

