Anime Vios goes inactive… for now

Hello, old-time readers, newcomers, and passersby!

As stated in the post title, I have decided to be inactive for the time being. I have thought about this carefully for the past few weeks. I haven’t written anything in two months, the longest period I have gone MIA in the aniblogging scene due to some changes in my private life lately.

AnimePahe_Hai_to_Gensou_no_Grimgar_-_08_720p_HS.mp4_000016991

There’s a beam of light even in the ruins… (Heck, I don’t know what I’m saying but I really wanted to include this screenshot from Grimgar)

Since I’ve never really made some sort of an announcement before, I’ll just take this chance to say it now. At the end of February I finally landed on a job that makes use of my skill sets gained from years of grueling education in college.

It’s my first industry experience. It hasn’t been that long, and I am still adjusting to this working environment. Being a shy and introverted person, it takes some time for me to get to know the hang of things–especially human hierarchies and communication and everything else I can’t bother to list down. Yes, you get the point.

And by “some time”, I meant, a lot of time. Being a noob working with seniors, the pressure to get things done on time is real. I feel like I am always moving fast, but by the end of the day, I was never fast enough. So I still spend a couple more hours to finish my tasks for the day. I go home tired and sleepy. Eat, work, sleep, basically (plus bathe, of course).

And as if the universe has conspired to prevent me from going online, our neighbor decided not to reconnect to the Internet. It was this ultimate blow that wrapped all of this busyness nicely.

But the time has not been completely bad, despite most of the discouraging truths I happen to hear at work frequently and stories that co-workers share with me. Despite the everyday stress I still look forward to get to work and find opportunities to improve in certain aspects I’m not really well-versed. My seniors are kind and thoughtful, teaching me things I wouldn’t know on my own. But, to not discredit myself, I also have fun when I discover things by myself–it’s somehow this kind of situation that reminds me that I’m not useless. That I can do something. And that is a very important sensation for me, as crucial as breathing.

That reminds me, I found myself loving Sia‘s songs lately. I think it started when I just casually listened to Alive. It was so powerful and solemn at the same time, it’s amazing that Sia can sing and compose songs like that. But when I actually read the lyrics intently, I started seeing images of myself, of what I’ve been and still going through. Alive was like a letter for me. I’ve claimed it as my anthem now–I’m on my way to recovery.

AnimePahe_Hai_to_Gensou_no_Grimgar_-_07_720p_HS.mp4_000811033

I’m still breathing. I’m  alive.

I have also learned to channel my little spare time to reading books. I’m a slow reader and being one doesn’t really hurt with my current lifestyle. For instance, I try to read a chapter of A Cat Called Birmingham: A Biography of Nine Lives by Chris Pascoe every time a manage to take my hour-long break at work. But more lately, I’m occupied by Scott Clark’s Japan: A View From the Bath, yet another rare book I found in my favorite thrift bookshop. With this, I’m about inches deeper to understanding the Japanese and their hot baths. How’s that sound?

As a consequence, I have less and less free time for watching anime. I don’t think I can closely watch this season, too. Tanaka-kun wa Itsume Kedaruge, Joker Game, Sakamoto desu ga, Boku no Hero Academia, and Flying Witch are some of the titles I try to consciously look out for, just in case some of you want to know what’s on my watch list.

By the way, I have finished only three shows from last season: Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu, Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash, and ERASED. They were all great treats–I had a lot of fun in all possible emotions I felt watching them–that I highly recommend, in that order.

This has somehow gotten unnecessarily lengthy, so I thank you from the bottom of my heart for reading the entirety of this post. And thank you all for reading my words, though I know myself I sometimes don’t make sense. Still, I’m grateful for the bonds I’ve forged here and the fun times I’ve had with the people I met through blogging.

I don’t know when I’m coming back, but rest assured I will drop by if I think I have something nice to say. This isn’t goodbye!

Let’s meet again!

25 responses to “Anime Vios goes inactive… for now

  1. Good luck sir, i have also experience it and its really hard to blog while working you cant focus and you only have few time. By the way Grimgar is really cool sir i like its story and how slow the theme i really feel it.

  2. Miha-chan! We miss you! But take your time. We’ll be waiting. I’m glad that you finally got the job. I hope that you get used to it soon and feel happy about it. Good luck! And I hope that you return to blogging, although not soon, someday. . . Take care!

    • Hello Arria! I missed you! (;u;) And thank you for the wishes. You take care too, yeah?

      Ironically I just posted something I wrote on a whim while at work.

      • Hello! I’m glad to hear from you again. It’s been a while. I’m glad to read that you’ve finally began working. Congrats! And I hope that you settle down at work and begin blogging again here. We’ll be waiting. Cheers!

        • I’m doing great. I have a one-month break this May, and then going back to school in June. How about there? Any updates on your new job? Are you used to it yet?

  3. *comes out of hiding*

    Well, laid-back blogging isn’t that bad xD

    In all seriousness though, congrats on landing a job that fits your skill set. That’s kinda the dream after all, lol, or at least a part of it. I mean, you’re going to be doing something you’re genuinely interested in (or even love) for a living, and that’s awesome!

    I’ve been thesis-locked since January so I can kinda(?) relate (which also explains why I’ve been semi-dead for some time now).

    I’ll be keeping an eye out on your eventual return 😀

    *goes back in hiding*

    • Hey, Leap! And thank you! I’m not sure if I consider this profession a dream, but for me right now it’s a lot better than not practicing what I learned at all, since there are many fascinating things to know as well while working in the food industry.

      I wish you the best, for your thesis and the life beyond college. 😀 Fighting!

  4. Long time no see Miharu! Your post brings a smile to my face. Glad to read that things are looking okay on your end. As an experience blog-going-inactive person, I will say… it’s not so bad a feeling heyyy 😛

    Best of luck with your work and your personal life. Ganbarimasu~ ^_^

    • ALEX sempai! Thank you^^ Your words brought a smile to my face too. And yes, gradually I’ve learned not to feel bad for not blogging for too long. But I won’t hesitate post something I wrote if I think it’s good enough, or it’s something I want certain people to read 🙂

      Thanks again, senpai. I’m ganbarimasuing at work and will improve further.

  5. Just saw this post. Hey good luck 🙂 I remember I usually get too tired to even do anything after my first few days of work, and went to bed straight after dinner, lol. But once I got used to it, I managed to at least sleep like a normal person (which means I got enough time and energy at least for some anime and games before I sleep), of course, still tired though but not as bad as my starting days of work. Not sure how long you have been at your workplace, but I think it’s mostly the adjusting to new environment that’s making me so tired.

    Is your neighbor your only source of connection? How do you connect to the internet now?

    • Yep. I think I’m still at my adjustment phase. I started working here on, literally, the end of February. I’m starting to get the hang of it, though. 🙂

      Previously, yes, my neighbor was my source of internet. Now, I only occasionally go to a nearby internet cafe. And, even more rarely, I go to my friend’s house. When I get some time off, I try to go to a cafe, which I’m doing at the moment. At least, here, I can stay as long as I want. 🙂

  6. I guess I should say “Welcome to the working world”? Totally understand that sometimes private life matters take precedence over blogging and any other online activities.

    First of all, congratulations on landing your first job. And good luck in your work and yeah, let’s meet again.

  7. Good luck! I know how it is. I usually never really let my blog know I’m taking breaks, and just took them, selfish person that I am.

    But I have clear memories of when I first had a full time job, and I’d wake up early, get back late, and then won’t really have energy to watch much anime. I remember getting 1-3 episodes a night, and usually falling asleep at the last one, telling me it’s time to hit the sack.

    Hard to manage things. But, good luck with doing so. And yeah, marathoning becomes even more of a necessity when you can only really get time in chunks at the weekend.

  8. Good luck on the current chapter of your life. Whether you decide to return or not what is important is that you are happy. Good luck no matter where the road may take you. 🙂

Your feedback makes me happy