My Thoughts on 「Zaregoto Book 2: Kubishime Romanticist」 by NisiOsiN

This might have been the very book that defined my partiality towards mystery novels. Though, of course, prior to reading this book I have not read much, so I did not have anything that could be properly compared to this piece. Furthermore, I read this first before the first book so I had no knowledge of the previous events in the story (see Book 1: Kubikiri Cycle) that would introduce me to the main characters in more details. Nonetheless, I took a liking to some of the characters, especially Ii-chan and Zerozaki Hitoshiki, and loved the narrative that had me gripping the edge of my bed at every page that I flipped.

Being the debut series of novels by Nisioisin, this may not be the best work of this author to date, as more avid readers are more likely to prefer his later works such as Bakemonogatari and Katanagatari, both series I have not yet read. Either with or without comparing this book to anything else he has written, I will always have a soft spot for the first NisiOisiN novel that I have read. Needless to say, take’s illustrations, which do not give anything away, have well played their part and grew on me.

Disregarding his current fame and the more popular titles that seem to always overshadow the wishes for an anime adaptation, Zaregoto Book 2, as a piece independent of its prequel and sequels, is a highly enthralling story in such a way that it had successfully fooled me throughout my reading experience. It is a genuinely genius mystery case that I will undoubtedly read again and again, despite the fact that I already know what would happen. And I am pretty sure I would still be engrossed in this particular writing style, no matter how unconventional it is.

4 responses to “My Thoughts on 「Zaregoto Book 2: Kubishime Romanticist」 by NisiOsiN

  1. Pingback: 12 Days of Reminiscence #1 – Off to a good start – Anime Vios·

  2. Pingback: News: Light Novel Articles (December 2014) | English Light Novels·

  3. I haven’t read Bakemonogatari or Katanagatari, but I’ve seen the animes and enjoyed them quite a bit. Especially Katanagatari. I absolutely loved that anime.

    I haven’t head of this though, but I love mystery stories so I’ll have to check it out.

    • I was browsing my anime screenshot folder and remembered how I loved the humor in Katanagatari. Hahaha. I wanna rewatch it, though I’m not the type to readily rewatch series.

      Yes, please do check out this book! It’s fantastic!

Your feedback makes me happy