Non Non Biyori Repeat Ep 1 – Feelin’ Good

non non biyori repeat 01 (6)

It’s back!!!!

Well, I thought it would be unfair for the other series I’ve been looking forward this season if I didn’t write a not-really-first impression post on it—after that disappointing Working!!! comeback episode. You can call that an excuse for me to write something, but I myself am honestly justifying this with my love for the series in question, Non Non Biyori!

What an apt return. Non Non Biyori Repeat begins with the events that took place right before the timeframe of the prequel. It showed how Miyauchi Rencho—ehem—Miyauchi Renge-san became the first-grader in the entire village.

I. Really. Love. This. Anime. It’s calm and peaceful, but it’s never dull. Thanks to the marvelous backgrounds of the greenery, the blues and whites of the skies, and the soothing musical accompaniment that fits the setting. Sound of chirping birds is present almost throughout the episode, which helps paint the picture of some place far from the busy city. The show captures the charm of rural places, that staying in one doesn’t sound bad at all. It has succeeded in making the whole atmosphere personally appealing.

This episode made me feel all warm inside and it didn’t fail to make me smile. It has earned a special place in my heart, for being able to steer my mind away from my preoccupations. Even if it does so temporarily, knowing that I have something this gentle and positive to look forward to is truly more than I could ask for at this moment.

The scene where Ren-chon practiced going to and from the (presumably, or maybe obviously) 105-year old school brought back some memories of when I had my first independent commute-to-school days.1 The window seat is the undoubtedly the best. You take on the view from your seat, and in a matter of days the route is already familiar, making it somewhat easy to spot later on what changes have been made on the landmarks that were once new to your eyes. And look at this face of astonishment from looking at the lush sceneries—something I relate to on a very personal level. I never get bored whenever we take a trip to an unfamiliar town and all I had to see are the hills and trees around.

THAT peaceful look. Plus, I also loved the BGM in the entire going-to-school sequence

THAT peaceful look. Plus, THAT lovely BGM in the entire going-to-school sequence

And this is when and how she got the legendary recorder!

And this is when and how she got the legendary recorder!

I’m really glad they got nano.RIPE again to sing for the OP. This season’s OP isn’t as good as the previous season’s, but it’s nano.RIPE so in itself it is already darn great.2

I’ve said nothing bad about the show, but there certainly are some bad (character) drawings if you pay close attention to the scenes. But those don’t really matter as they didn’t hinder my enjoyment of the show.

If I were to describe my experience of watching this, it’d be like lying on a field of grass and staring at the blue sky and white clouds, with the wind passing by every so often and birds singing on the background, feeling so satisfied and at peace. Yes, just like this:

non non biyori repeat

Aaaaaaaand, we haven’t even heard a single line of “NYANPASSU!” yet.


  1. But I was already a first year high school student then. I finally learned to ride in jeepneys on my own. In elementary school, we had a carpool (more like, tricycle-pool?) to fetch us. And I was always with my mother when I went out to eat or buy stuff. So, yeah. No commuting done in primary school. 
  2. nano.RIPE is love. Seriously though, nano.RIPE’s music may sound generic for some, but I get why they’re darn great. They make feel-good, feel-warm music—it ‘shows’ in how they play and in how the vocalist sings! And what better way is there than to have them perform for a feel-good anime? 

5 responses to “Non Non Biyori Repeat Ep 1 – Feelin’ Good

  1. Pingback: [ASS] #17 Nanairo Biyori: Shine like the colors of the rainbow | Anime Vios·

  2. “If I were to describe my experience of watching this, it’d be like lying on a field of grass and staring at the blue sky and white clouds, with the wind passing by every so often and birds singing on the background, feeling so satisfied and at peace.”

    This, pretty much. Non Non Biyori had always been relaxing to watch, and S2’s the same so far 🙂 Still need to get to the new episode soon though.

    • Yeap. And glad to have that screenshot around. NNB’s pretty self-aware of what it does to its viewers. 🙂 Also, I haven’t watched anything past the first episode lol

  3. I have been on a slice of life binge lately (it cheers me up after a depressing day at work.) I purchased the first season of this show and have enjoyed what I have seen thus far. I laughed when the tanuki failed to perform a trick when she whistled.

    • Good decision. It’s simply a show of good feels, that’s why it’s in my watch list. Since I’ve been feeling depressed these days (months?), I’ve decided to make my watch list this season lighter, to avoid shows that’ll make my head hurt more than they can cheer me up.

Your feedback makes me happy